What makes a good blog post great?

Lately I have been thinking about what constitutes a great blog post? I am the type of person who doesn’t want / like to blog just for the fact of blogging. I want my posts to be authentic. I want them to have a purpose for me. I want them to be engaging for my readers.  Normally, I judge my posts on the amount of comments I get on them. If I get posts obviously I am tapping into someones funds of knowledge.

Well what changes your blog post from good to great?

Is it videos? Should it be long or short? Does it have to be about technology? Should you advertise it on Twitter? Can you make two posts in the same day? Do pictures help, if so, should they be your own? How often should you write? Are there any rules? Does spelling matter?

I would appreciate your opinion on what constitutes a great blog post.

7 thoughts on “What makes a good blog post great?

  1. Dionne says:

    Kristina,
    I think you are doing a pretty darn good job of writing good blog posts! I think that anytime that a person is just blogging in order to get in an entry or two that it should be deleted – who wants to read that? What I enjoy about your blog posts is that they are always focused on a topic – some are controversial and I really enjoy that because it gets the reader thinking! Not going to lie, so I think that since I am very much attracted to images and videos that good blog posts have atleast an image or video for me to look at.
    All in all, I believe it is the writer’s style that intrigues me. Every writer is different any some just catch my eye! I like the controversial, opinionated, get me thinking posts. Oh ya – the funny ones are pretty good too! See you tonight.

  2. Eric Biederbeck says:

    You pose some good questions. Personally I don’t think it is anything in particular like video or pictures but rather that the post strikes a chord with the people it is aimed at (so in your case fellow educators). This would naturally lead to responses although I don’t think responses themselves make a great blog post.

    I guess getting people thinking, striking that chord and thus getting the discussion going in the reply area is the big thing for me.

    Allow this one is relatively short and has no videos or pics:) I think it’s a great one because it is generating discussion

  3. edwebb says:

    A great blog post is like any other great writing: it says something, and says it well. The flexibility of the medium is part of its charm, though – a great blogpost can be a few sentences or a few paragraphs. I find that great posts often link to something or things on which they are commenting. Only connect!

  4. Brenda Sherry says:

    I think it’s authentic inquiry Kristina, and you are obviously doing that well. I like blog posts that illuminate the conflicts we often feel. 21 years into teaching and I still spend a of time pondering ideas, strategies, kids. I guess that’s what makes it so rewarding!

  5. Sean Nash says:

    I concur… I too, followed Dembo’s 30D2BBB challenge. As a less-than-one-year blogger, it helped to solidify what what going on for me. Really- if nothing else, it gave me reasons to post. Part of getting in the groove for a lot of folks I suspect- is feeling like what you say might matter to someone else.

    Getting a few comments along the way through the challenge helps the confidence level. It helped me get to the point where I felt more comfortable saying what I really wanted to say in these spaces.

    Keep it up- asking all the right questions.
    😉

    Sean

  6. Jan Smith says:

    Hi Kristina, you may be interested in the advice of these young bloggers:

    http://haydenh16.edublogs.org/2009/02/15/happy-birthday-edublogger/

    http://nicholash16.edublogs.org/2009/02/12/tips-for-building-a-blog-audience/

    http://catieh16.edublogs.org/2009/02/16/are-you-a-quality-commenter/

    http://krish16.edublogs.org/2009/02/15/5-tips-to-being-a-better-blogger/

    What I think they understand is that blogging is not just your post. It’s your reading and thinking, too. It is about reciprocity, dialogue, community. Otherwise it’s a diary. Posts are offerings.

    I hope you will get to blog with students sometime. It is quite thrilling to watch their growth. Here’s my favourite post on the subject (by someone I believe you’ve met): http://ideasandthoughts.org/2008/07/17/student-and-teacher-blogging-that-succeeds/

    Good luck in all you do!

Leave a Reply

