Flannel Board Story & Digital Story Telling

For my ELNG 326: Teaching English as a Second Language Class we were to create a cultural Flannel Board Story. My story was The Goat and the Chiles (Chile Patch). It is a Mexican Folktale. Below is an introduction to the flannel board story and my telling of the story.

As I was making this flannel board story I was thinking, I could probably do a much better job of this using technology. I thought it would make more sense to use technology to do this, it would probably save me time, and it is quicker to change; compared to taking the time to cut out each flannel piece and decorate them. But the assignment was a flannel board story, so I took the risk. In the end it was a good risk! I really enjoyed presenting it and I felt by having the flannel board pieces right there for me it added to the story. I have told the story a couple other times and each time the story gets more and more interesting and easy to tell as I grow more comfortable with it and ‘own’ it.

There is a way, however, to integrate the two together as my colleague, Dionne, shows you in her blog. What she did was told the story with her flannel pieces and recorded it using voicethread.  This enables to have a ‘hard copy’ of the story and a ‘digital copy’ of the story. Both which I see in my mind as very important.

2 thoughts on “Flannel Board Story & Digital Story Telling

  1. funfelt says:

    For future reference you might want to find out about my site! 🙂 It is fun and saves you a lot of time when you need flannel board figures! 🙂 Good luck with your lessons!
    Karen

Leave a Reply

