So Far Apart, Yet So Close!

Sarah and I were working on our Major Project for our ECMP 455 class tonight.  We are working on putting together a Wiki that further examines “How to use Twitter in the Classroom”. As I was searching through some websites I came across the following Question and Answer, from a FANTASTIC website:

Q. How do I send a message to another person?

A.From Twitter page or twitter client you can type in “@” followed by the persons twitter name (example “@courosa” for Alec Couros)

reply screenshot

At first glance I didn’t notice anything, but when I took a second look I started to giggle. Sarah asked me what was so funny and I pointed out the picture. (Alec Couros is our prof for our ECMP 455 class).

Isn’t it funny how we can be so far away from someone, yet be so close at the same time with the help of technology. The world is a big place, but it seems that we are able to know more about the world and collaborate with so many more people because of technology, in this case, Twitter.

I started out with my Twitter account in the beginning of January and I currently have 102 followers and I am following 114 people. My network is growing every day, which means my bank of knowledge and resources is growing every day. I embraced the idea of Twitter at an early stage and I am learning how to use it to the best of my ability. My contacts from around the world are many miles away, but I can easily contact them with the click of a button. In the end we are so far apart, yet so close!

4 thoughts on “So Far Apart, Yet So Close!

  1. courosa says:

    Haha, that’s really quite funny. Glad you found that great resource though. And thanks Ann for “19 Interesting Ways” link!

  2. wmrandth says:

    That is so wondefully funny and appropriate — but of course, who else would an educator new to Twitter make contact with first but @courosa, aka Mr. EduTwitter.

    What a marvelous piece of serendipity –

    “Isn’t it funny how we can be so far away from someone, yet be so close at the same time with the help of technology.”

    That’s the Twitter experience in a nutshell.

    Randy

Leave a Reply

