Personal Learning Environments

One of our projects in our ECMP455 class is building our own PLE at the beginning of the class I had no idea what this meant and I thought this would be difficult because where would I go to build my PLE? I decided to join Twitter and from this I have been able to create and develop a PLE that helps me to collaborate with other educators and learn as an educator.

I just watch a slidecast courtesy of Graham Attwell, a collegaue on Twitter, and I think it describes what a PLE is very well and why PLE’s help us as educators. He says the future of education is PLE’s and I could not agree more.

The main points I got from the slidecast is how PLE’s will help us in our future education.

From our PLE we want to be able to: access & search, aggregrate & scaffold, manipulate, analyze, store, reflect, present, represent, and share.

I would highly reccomend you watch this slidecast!

I have found the PLE I have developed so far as been very beneficial in my growth as an educator. I have been able to bounce ideas of of other educators, gather and find resources, etc. The fact that I am getting my information from someone who has tried this is very reassuring. I think a PLE makes your own learning more personal than just trial and error searching.

This is how we will be evaluate on our PLE / PLN in our ECMP455 class:

Documentation, Definition, & Development of a PLE/PLN. Much of the learning in this course will be focused on building and better understanding personal learning environments and networks, and their potential in teaching & learning. This assignment requires experimentation, immersion, and reflection. For this assignment, you will learn to use emerging social tools, connect to others, participate in shared or collaborative activities, and to document and reflect on your experiences. This documentation should be comprehensive, highlighting your minute and general experiences. The documentation can be done in any format(s) you wish. It is hoped that this assignment will help us all better understand the potential (or nonpotential) for the PLE/PLN in education. 20%
3 thoughts on “Personal Learning Environments

  1. Ann Oro says:

    Good luck on your journey. I’ve found growing my own PLN to be invaluable over the last few years. I taught about five years before stumbling onto this great network of educators.

  2. Cindy Seibel says:

    Thanks for sharing the PLE/PLN objectives from your course. I am THRILLED to see this immersive learning approach happening in a pre-service class. We expect teachers today to know how to teach in these environments when they haven’t learned yet how to learn in them.

    As a former grad student of Dr. Couros, I am so not surprised!

  3. Hiram Cuevas says:

    Kristina,

    You are right on the mark about PLE’s and I also have found twitter to be extremely valuable.

    I am participating in Powerful Learning Practice- http://plpnetwork.com/ and my PLN as a result of this international group of educators, provides me with exceptional information daily.

Leave a Reply

