Implications of Google Apps in the Classroom

I just finished my online class for ECMP 455 with guest speaker Lisa Thmann. This session was amazing and I suggest for anyone who is interested in learning more about Google Apps and how to use them in the classroom to watch the recorded version.

Google Apps can enhance the whole environment of the classroom. You can use Google Docs in so many ways in your classroom. Most of these uses help the teacher and the learner to focus more on the process of the learning than the product. This can be done through Writer’s Workshop, Group Work, Homework accessible anywhere with internet connection, etc.

You can also use the forms option as a non-threatening pre-assessment tool. What an engaging and accurate way of seeing where your students are at in their learning. The neat thing is that Google has made it so user-friendly that it takes the ‘thinking’ part out of it for the teachers. After someone has completed the form it is automatically posted to a spreadsheet. What a time saver!

Google Docs an easy-to-use online word processor, spreadsheet and presentation editor that enables you and your students to create, store and share instantly and securely, and collaborate online in real time. You can create new documents from scratch or upload existing documents, spreadsheets and presentations. There’s no software to download, and all your work is stored safely online and can be accessed from any computer.”

Just think of the ways you could use Spreadsheets, PowerPoints, Word Processor, etc in your classroom.

I am just so excited of all the information I got from this presentation and I am really looking forward to using these applications in my classroom!

If anyone has some really good lesson plans or ideas of how to use any of the apps in the classroom please send them my way. 🙂

Here is a cute little comic book on how to use various google apps. What a great way to explain it!!

Please take the time to do my Google Form as it will help my build my PLE/PLN!

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “Implications of Google Apps in the Classroom

  1. Sheri says:

    I could not agree more. I had no idea what Google had to offer. I cannot wait to apply these things in the classroom. Did you check out the video I found on Google Docs? There are a lot out there, but I really liked this one. It is great to see the positive feedback of using Google in the classroom.

  2. rochelleanderson says:

    Hey hun you did awesome on the article, I really just wanted to copy and paste your blog onto my format. I’m linking my page to yours because of the sweet comic!

    And liking your picture

Leave a Reply

